Reading Challenge

Reading Challenge 2017 completed: 50/50

Hi my dear readers!

So as some of you may know I read 68 books in 2016, which was a big deal considering I started reading from cover to cover in 2014 (when I was 16- my first ever book was Torn Apart by James Patterson). And so I come free a background where reading isn’t influenced or admired: in fact my mama still believes I read *devil books* ( which is any cover that has the words to do with Fire or just looks scary)

This is a big deal guys.

Reading wasn’t a habit growing up.

It’s a privilege now.

And so in 2016–I read anything I could get my hands. This was how my collection grew- I joined YA twitter because my favourite genres to read are fantasy and contemporary and I honestly just read anything I could afford.

I quickly began to love authors like Sabaa Tahir, Tahereh Mafi, S J Maas, Nicola Yoon, Leigh Bardugo etc.

And then I realised, if I read like this from younger then so many issues that I faced could’ve been sorted whilst I was growing up in school.

I now own about 210 books. In just under 2 years, I have bought 210 and read a good 140 of them. By the end of this year i’m hoping to get through another shelf.

But isn’t that special?

I own 210 books. In a tiny corner of my room that I share with 3 of my sisters, I own 210 books. I thinks that’s pretty remarkable.

So anyway, apart from this tiny back story on how  I came to reading, I want to list some of my favourite reads from this year.

These include NYT bestsellers, recent debuts, series that I’ve always wanted to start and just some reads that I stumbled upon finding but thoroughly enjoyed. They aren’t listed in the order of what I enjoyed most but more the order how I read them I guess(January- October 2017)

  1. Everything, Everything and The Sun is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon= YA Contemporary
  2. Consequences (1,2,3) by Aleatha Romig = New Adult
  3. Beautiful Disaster (1,2,3) by Jamie McGuire= YA Contemporary
  4. Wing Jones by Katherine Webber= YA Contemporary
  5. Hold Back The Stars by Katie Khan= YA SFF
  6. Caraval by Stephanie Garber= YA Fantasy
  7. Throne of Glass (1,2,3,4,5,6) by S J Mass= YA Fantasy
  8. A Court of Thorns and Roses(1,2,3) by S J Mass = YA Fantasy/ New Adult
  9. Cinder by Marissa Meyer = YA Fantasy
  10. The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas = Ya Contemporary
  11. If Birds Fly Back by Carlie Sorosiak = YA Contemporary
  12. Rebel of the Sands (1,2) by Alwyn Hamiltion= YA Fantasy
  13. Simon Vs the Homosapien Agenda by Becky Albertalli= YA Contemporary
  14. The Grisha Trilogy(1,2,3) by Leigh Bardugo = YA Fantasy
  15. Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo=YA Fantasy
  16. Shatter Me Trilogy(1,2,3) by Tahereh Mafi= YA Fantasy
  17. One Of Us Is Lying by Karen M.McManus= YA thriller
  18. A Darker Shade of Magic(1,2,3) by V.E Schwab= YA Fantasy
  19. Love, Hate and Other Filters by Samira Ahmed= YA Contemporary

So there you have it! These were the books I thoroughly enjoyed so far this year. I have met quite a few of these authors and they are some of the greatest people that I know. By the end of this year I’m going to try to read 15 more books (with all the drafting, editing, assignment writing and events that I have in the next two months!)

And  I’ll leave you with this quote that I love and admire so much, because it’s something I can relate to.

“Reading is a conversation. A good books talks. But a good book listens as well.”- Mark Haddon.

Thanks for reading everyone! I’m going to add in some photos of my book shelves and comment if you can spot any of the books that I’ve listed!

Always love to my readers,

Samia Sharif

@ssharifbooks

 

 

Leave a comment